The White Report

Catherine White connects and creates worth through powerful story telling

Do you have a Social Media Mission Statement?

with 3 comments

Since the economic crash the biggest topic up for discussion is, how can business use Social Media to promote their products and services?

I’m often asked, with so many options out there how do I know what’s right for us?

I believe the seeds of success are always in the set up. When we set up right in the beginning, success is all the more possible.

For that reason I recommend ‘Social Media Mission Statements’.

A thoughtful, clearly written Mission Statement is the framework within which purpose and goals are defined? For instance, when I’ve revisited former mission statements I’ve been amazed at the precision of my silent navigator.

But (I hear you ask) isn’t writing a Social Media Mission Statement akin to putting the cart before the horse? How can I write a Social Media Mission Statement if I don’t know what social media platform I’m need to adopt?

without a mission the people perish

without a mission the people perish


Let me ask you this? Would you go on the Kokoda Trail without a guide? Would you go scuba diving without an underwater compass?

Neither is it wise to venture into an unknown medium without clearly defined objectives.

A Social Media Mission Statement shouldn’t be confused with a Social Media Policy. A Social Media Policy comes after the fact, and directs social media engagement.

Nor does a Social Media Mission Statement have to read like the Preamble to the Constitution of the United States.

It can be as simple as …

“The purpose of our social media policy is to protect and promote the interests of career mothers, while serving the needs of the members of our Association‘

We now have the directives for social media decisions and policies, which are the key words, ‘protect, promote, career mothers, serve, members and Association.

Instead of wasting time with unprofitable sidelines, A Social Media Mission Statement serves as guide in selecting social media tools that reach and serve your target audience.

Don’t be daunted at the prospect of writing a Social Media Mission Statement, just get down to the business of writing the purpose and goals of your business.

That done, it’s easier to switch off to a lot of social media babble, and pave a way that’s relevant and worthwhile for your business.

Written by Catherine White

August 9, 2009 at 11.27 am08

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Having read this I thought it was very enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this short article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and posting comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  2. We are on the same page when you say:

    “I also use social media to connect with people who are smarter than me!”

    Love this point!

    The Divine Miss White

    August 11, 2009 at 11.27 am08

  3. I like this idea. Let’s see. Let me put together a social media mission statement.

    I use Twitter and Facebook to establish myself as a Marketing Eggspert, and to build awareness of my marketing (http://www.sparkplugging.com/marketing) and personal blogs. I also use social media to connect with people who are smarter than me!

    Susan

    August 11, 2009 at 11.27 am08


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,338 other followers

